Michigan CPL Renewal Training

2 Different Michigan CPL Renewal Class Types to Fit your Learning Style

Virtual Michigan CPL Renewal Class

POWERPNT_BUAwYAdH5I

OR

In-Person Michigan CPL Renewal

20200705_100236

Virtual Michigan CPL Renewal Classes

Oct 2022

Date/Time Event
10/22/2022
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - VIRTUAL Michigan CPL Renewal Class - $25

In-Person Michigan CPL Renewal Classes

Oct 2022

Date/Time Event
10/29/2022
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday - Michigan CPL Renewal Class - $25
Recoil Firearms, Taylor Michigan

Virtual CPL Renewal Class

Getting up-to-date is easy with our virtual class.  Using Zoom, our instructor broadcasts their screen and leads a virtual lesson, focusing on Michigan laws.  Because we use zoom, joining the class is easy from any device.  As long as you have internet, you can quickly and easily connect using your phone, computer or tablet.  Zoom works with all devices, including Mac, Windows, Chromebook, Android and iOS.

If you have a question during class, it’s as easy as typing your question in a private chat, or just unmuting your microphone to talk directly with our instructor.

Getting up-to-date and renewing your CPL has never been easier.  Shortly before the class, our instructor will send out the an email containing the Zoom link.

I took the online version of the class and I am very appreciative of how Will thoroughly explained the lessons and how knowledgeable he was. I lot of things clicked for me after reviewing the content. Thank you for doing a good job Will!!”
– LaKewa Davis

  • Learn from the Best

    Our specialty is presenting the Michigan law and ensuring students understand the use of force and firearm laws, so you don’t become a felon by accident.

  • The Training You Need, On Your Schedule

    A variety of dates and only 3 hours make sit easy to fit our class into your schedule.

  • Attend Training From Anywhere

    Using Zoom, you can join our class from any laptop, desktop, tablet or phone anywhere in the world

  • Live, Instructor-led Virtual Training

    No boring videos!  Class is presented live, just like an in-person class

  • Frequent Breaks

    You’ll have plenty of opportunities to grab a coffee and take brief breaks

Upcoming Virtual Michigan CPL Renewal Classes Near You

In-Person CPL Renewal Class

Join us to review the Michigan laws and other important topics, in-person.  You’ll join with others doing their renewal class, as well as people who are staying for the whole day to complete their initial CPL training.

Our instructors are patient and ready to answer any questions you have.

Will is an awesome instructor! I learned a lot to help and a lot about my knowledge deficits. I have taken the CPL/CCW class in the past. That class paled in comparison to this class. I am excited to continue my learning about firearms eith this company. He told us at the end of class that he has several new experiences planned for the future! Thanks Will. I highly recommend this course.

Thomasean Britten

  • 1 Day Class

  • Classroom Experience

    Live interaction with the instructor and the other students

  • Frequent Breaks

Upcoming In-Person Michigan CPL Renewal Classes Near You

 

Renewal Process

Where to Renew

  • In-person at the County Clerk’s Office
  • On-line using a PIN (if you don’t have a PIN, see instructions below)

 

Renewal Legal Requirements

  • You MUST complete at least 3 hours reviewing your CPL course material
  • You’ve gone to the range at least once in the 6 months preceding your renewal application

 

Michigan CPL Renwal Class / Training Requirements

  • There is no training requirement apart from the legal requirements listed above
  • You can study by yourself or you can choose to take a renewal class
  • Proof of training is not required

 

Benefits of Taking a Renewal Class

  • Refresher on the laws
  • Updates on any changes to the law in the last 5 years
  • Refresher on shooting and conflict avoidance
  • Proof that you completed the requirements to renew

 

How to Renew Online

 

How to get your PIN

  • The County Clerk sends it to you in the mail
  • If you didn’t receive it, you can contact the Michigan State Police at 517-284-3700
  • The state police will verify your information and provide your PIN

 

How long is your CPL good for?

  • It goes into effect on your birthday and is good for 5 years, expiring on your birthday 5 years in the future

State Law

  1. An application to renew a license to carry a concealed pistol may be submitted not more than six months before the expiration of the current license.
  2.  A license to carry a concealed pistol issued on or after July 1, 2003, but before July 1, 2006, is valid for 5 years. A license to carry a concealed pistol issued or renewed on or after July 1, 2006, is valid until the applicant’s date of birth that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after the license is effective.
  3.  The effective date is the date the previous license expires or the date of approval of the renewal, whichever is later.
  4.  An application is considered a renewal if the applicant has received a concealed pistol license under compliance of the training requirements set forth in the Act after July 1, 2001.
  5.  A CPL license is renewed in the same manner as the original license (see CPL CCW Application Information).  The cost for a renewal license is $115.
  6.  Beginning January 1, 2007, an applicant who is applying for a renewal of a license is not required to have fingerprints taken again if the applicant’s fingerprints have been submitted to and maintained by the Department of State Police for on-going comparison with the automated fingerprint comparison system.  The Department of State Police began storing applicant fingerprints on January 1, 2006.  Therefore, an applicant is not exempt from this requirement unless the last time fingerprints were submitted was after January 1, 2006.
  7.  For an individual licensed after July 1, 2001, and subsequently applying for a renewal:
    • Pistol safety training course is not required
    • Applicant shall present a statement signed by the applicant certifying that he/she has completed at least three (3) hours of review of the pistol safety training course and has at least 1 hour of firing range time in the 6 months immediately preceding the renewal application.