Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CCW) Eligibility

Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Eligibility

Applicants for an Ohio CCW License; Eligibility:

  1. Legally living in the United States
  2. Ohio resident or currently employed in Ohio
  3. Be at least 21 years old
  4. Not be prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm
  5. Obtain a certificate of competency with a firearm
  6. Have a color photograph no less than 30 days old (Passport Sized, 2″x2″)
  7. Not under indictment for or otherwise charged with a felony
  8. Have never been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony
  9. Never been adjudicated as a delinquent child for committing an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult
  10. Have never been adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would, if committed by an adult, be an offense under ORC 2925, 3719, or 4729, that involves illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution of, or trafficking in a drug of abuse
  11. Have never been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, a misdemeanor offense of violence, charge of domestic violence, or a similar offense, in this or any other state
  12. Have never been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or mentally defective, or committed to a mental institution
  13. Not subject to a civil protection order, temporary protection order or any protection order issued by a court of any state
  14. Not currently under suspension of a CCW license issued by this state or another
  15. Have never been adjudicated mentally defective (which includes a determination by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority that you are a danger to yourself or others or are incompetent to manage your own affairs) or have never been committed to a mental institution
  16. Not an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802
  17. Have never been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
  18. Not subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an intimate partner of a child
  19. Have never been convicted in any court of a felony, or any other crime, for which the judge could have imprisoned you for more than one year, even if you received a shorter sentence, including probation
  20. Have never renounced your United States citizenship
// //