If you have a CPL, you can carry your firearm concealed pretty much anywhere unless the property explicitly prohibits the carrying of pistols as well as the following pistol free zones:
- Schools or school property but may carry while in a vehicle on school property while dropping off or picking up if a parent or legal guardian
- Public or private day care center, public or private child caring agency, or public or private child placing agency.
- Sports arena or stadium
- A tavern where the primary source of income is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass consumed on the premises
- Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship, unless the presiding official or officials allow concealed weapons
- An entertainment facility that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more
- A hospital
- A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university
- A Casino
- US Post Office
- US Federal Buildings
- A business or property that has posted a sign implicitly stating no guns allowed
- Any other business, house or property that prohibits firearms on the premises
- Property owned by the University of Michigan
- Property owned by Wayne State University
- Property owned by Michigan State University
- Any other place firearms are prohibited by state of federal law
“Premises” does not include the parking areas of the places listed above per Michigan statutes. However, there is grey area concerning parking lots of casinos and school property so concealed carry would be construed as illegal even in the parking lots in our opinion. Concealed carry is also not allowed (including parking lots) at property owned by the University of Michigan, Wayne State University or Michigan State University.
An individual who carries a concealed pistol in a pistol free zone is responsible for a state civil infraction or guilty of a crime as follows:
(a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), the individual is responsible for a state civil infraction and may be fined not more than $500.00. The court shall order the individual’s license to carry a concealed pistol suspended for 6 months.
(b) For a second violation, the individual is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00. The court shall order the individual’s license to carry a concealed pistol revoked.
(c) For a third or subsequent violation, the individual is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. The court shall order the individual’s license to carry a concealed pistol revoked.