The classroom portion is presented by a live instructor using a learning & video platform. After you complete the virtual classroom training, you would sign up for the range course near you and are awarded your CPL certificate after completion of the range course.
With our network of instructors growing by the day, you’ll be able to take the virtual class today and complete your range training with one of our experts in a number of cities, including Taylor, Hastings, Livonia and Jackson and we’re adding more all the time.
Our normal 1 day CPL class is presented by experienced instructors that make it fun and informative!
This class meets or exceeds all Michigan’s laws to obtain a permit to carry a concealed pistol. Training certificates are honored in every county in Michigan.
If you are considering taking a beginner class or a CCW/CPL class, this is definitely the place to do it! Jeff and Will are wonderful! They take the time to give individual attention to all who attend, even if that means running the class longer than the designated time. Lots of hands-on instruction is a plus for those who have never held a gun before.
My wife and I took the CPL class together. She had never handled a pistol before & was apprehensive about doing so. Our instructor was extremely patient with her and she passed the written exam with a 100% score and easily passed the NRA shooting qualification exam! We both are now eligible to apply for our CPL.
All aspects of safe concealed carry are covered in detail. "Hands on" usage of many types of pistols and holsters is encouraged to make this class an excellent resource to increase your knowledge and awareness to make you a safe and confident CPL candidate. Expert personal and patient gun range coaching on your shooting techniques made this a real confidence booster by increasing my accuracy and consistency.
No. All CPL training certificates are good in all counties in Michigan, no matter what city you took the class in.
After you submit your CPL application and get your fingerprints taken, the county has 45 days to run your background and issue the permit but most people receive their license by mail within 2 – 3 weeks.
Per MCL 750.234d, it is a 90 day misdemeanor to possess a firearm on premises of a bank or depository financial institution unless you have a valid concealed pistol license (CPL) from Michigan or another state or you have permission of the owner (or agent) of the bank. If you have a CPL, you may legally possess a firearm in a bank provided there are no prohibitions put in place by the bank such as a policy prohibiting firearms on the bank’s property.
Unless you are exempted from requiring a CPL to carry a firearm (law enforcement officer, etc), you still need a CPL to legally carry a concealed pistol in public. Constitutional carry package of bills did not become law in Michigan, and nothing else has changed that would negate the need to have a valid Michigan CPL to carry a concealed pistol.
No. You must be at least 21 years old to be eligible for a Michigan CPL.
No, with exceptions. If you have ever been convicted of a felony in Michigan or any other state, you are ineligible for a CPL. However, if that conviction has been set aside and the applicant is otherwise qualified, the individual may not be denied a CPL per Michigan AG opinion 7133 on May 02, 2003.
Your CPL expires on your birthday, and is good for a maximum of 5 years. The first time you receive your CPL, it will expire on your birthday and be valid for between 4 and 5 years, depending upon the date the CPL is issued. When you renew, it will be valid for the full 5 years.
There is no age limit imposed by Michigan for taking the class, so it is up to the instructor’s discretion. If a person is under 21, passes the class and is given a certificate, he or she could use that certificate when they do turn 21 as long as they took the class within 5 years of their CPL application date.
21 years old. You make take the class prior to your 21st birthday, but a person would have to wait until they are at least 21 years old to submit their CPL application to the county.
Yes. In fact, having a CPL allows a person to open carry in many more locations that would otherwise be restricted, such as banks and property owned or leased by an establishment that has a liquor license.
Prices vary from instructor to instructor, but most classes end up costing between $70 – $200 after factoring in ammo, gun rental, class materials and range time.
To get a concealed pistol license (CPL) in Michigan, you are required to take a training course first. These CPL classes are 8 hours long, and include classroom training and instruction on the shooting range.
The CPL class must be a minimum of 8 hours long, including 5 hours of classroom instruction and 3 hours of range time and safety training. Most CPL classes are taught as one 8 hour day, although the actual time might be over 8 hours factoring in lunch breaks and questions.
A CPL stands for “Concealed Pistol License.” This is the license a person must get to carry a concealed pistol or taser in Michigan. Often, a CPL is incorrectly referred to as a CCW License.
Instructors are not all created equal. We hand-pick the very best instructors in your area. Easily see reviews and testimonials for each instructor.
We want to be the best training resource in the world. The only way to do that is by making sure each student has the best training experience, and looks to us for future training.
Have a question about a class? Not sure which class to take? Call us. That’s what we’re here for. Before, during and after class, we’re here to help.
Our instructors use a variety of teaching methods to ensure open and practical learning while in a safe and comfortable environment.